Ivy covered house

Durham Castle behind Ivy Covered House

Ivy covered house on the edge of Palace Green, Durham

Now living close to Durham City, I have had the opportunity to make a couple of visits in the early morning, before the crowds arrive.  Although the mornings have not always been that good for photographing, I was fortunate with the ones I chose.

On the edge of Palace Green as you come up towards the Cathedral from the city centre is this house which has Durham Castle in the background.  I’ve never seen a house so covered in ivy !  Some years ago, I visited the village of Matishall where a priest from the local church had gone to.  I and a friend had gone to help him with some tidying up work.  While there we were invited to participate in an “Ivy night”.  We didn’t know what to expect.  It turned out that every so many years the parishoners cleared the ivy off the church walls.  It was hard work, but understandable why they do it.  The roots of the ivy bury their way into the mortar and I guess over time will undermine the structural integrity (i’m no engineer – just guessing) of the building.  I don’t think I would like to have to start taking the ivy from this house.

I’ll put more images of Durham up from time to time as I have a few more I can use and will undoubtedly be making numerous visits to the city over the coming months. If the weather forecasts are right and we are in for a long winter, then there could be some interesting winter shots along the river.

About Stephen G

Commercial lifestyle photography is what we do. My first love is landscape photography, though I would love to be a travel photographer. Personally, I follow the activities of many photographers in all genres. My other loves are ancient Egypt and Theology.
This entry was posted in City. Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

