Cross of Power

The Cross, Good Friday Symbol

Converted image of a cross used on a Good Friday

As we are approaching Easter, I thought I would pull out one of my images from this time of the year.  This image was of a large wooden cross that had a platt of thorns hanging over it, and was erected on a village green in Cumbria.

I don’t normally go in that much for gimmicky processing, but I wanted to try to add something to the symbolism of the cross.  As a Christian, to me the empty cross is a symbol of power, so I wanted to try to convey that in the image.  The original image was nothing to write home about, as the light wasn’t very good.  So I pushed the contrast considerably before converting to black and white and them deepened the shadows a bit further.  Finally I applied the zooming effect.

I feel that the image does give a feeling of power and movement, not some static symbol.  I’d love to hear what you think.

Happy Easter !

About Stephen G

Commercial lifestyle photography is what we do. My first love is landscape photography, though I would love to be a travel photographer. Personally, I follow the activities of many photographers in all genres. My other loves are ancient Egypt and Theology.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Abstract, Church Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

