Looking back to the beginning

My first real foray into photography began many years ago when I was introduced to a 35mm camera by an old friend.  My father had just died and I was devastated.  This old friend, Eddie, had been taking photographs for many years, developing his own black and white images.  I became quite hooked and began to enjoy taking photographs of people including those in the local pub at weekends.

Carol_Owens_01One young lady, Carol Owens, helped me a lot by letting me take shots of her at church, at her parents house and back garden, and at a local castle, Hylton Castle.  I was really rather lucky as at the time she was 15, 16 and I was five years older than her, but her parents were very friendly and trusting.  I’m not sure I could have been that trusting when my daughter was that age.  Of course, they had nothing to worry about.

 

 

Carol_Owens_02My technique and ability wasn’t particularly good, but Carol was really helpful and let me make all kinds of mistakes and we had a bit of a laugh along the way.  By making the mistakes, and spending the time doing this to learn about my equipment, I learned valuable lessons that helped me immensely in my later photography.

 

The above two images I came across in a box of photographs that we probably all have and have forgotten about.  They were scanned on a flatbed scanner and edited in Photoshop.  These shots were taken several decades ago, which I guess she won’t be too keen on me saying.

However, Carol, if you see this, get in touch.  I would love to have the chance to photograph you and your family and provide you with some images (I’ve improved a lot – honest!).

Thanks for helping me all those years ago, I’m truly grateful.

 

About Stephen G

Commercial lifestyle photography is what we do. My first love is landscape photography, though I would love to be a travel photographer. Personally, I follow the activities of many photographers in all genres. My other loves are ancient Egypt and Theology.
Image | This entry was posted in Personal, Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Looking back to the beginning

  1. Pingback: Update from the beginning … | Gardiner Photography | Commercial Photographer in Durham

Please Leave a Reply

