An unexpected challenge

Vogue Cover Nov15

I got involved with a group called Durham Creatives who help those wanting to setup business in the creative arena – artists (of all disciplines), writers, weavers, etc., and including photographers.  They provided some great help and run a selection of workshops throughout the year.  Jane, one of the main organisers, was very helpful in giving me plenty to think about and a variety of contacts.

 

 

Chocolate spoons for making chocolate drinks.

Chocolate spoons for making chocolate drinks

Somewhat out of the blue, I received an e-mail from Claire Megginson of Sweet Sally Cinnamon who needed a photograph of one of her products.  The timescale was about two days, but the thing that really got me was that the image was to be used in a Vogue advert in November !  Although it was a simply styled shot, I was more than a little nervous.

The final shot turned out to be not bad, though it could have been better.  It would have been nice if Claire had been there as this was the first time I had done a shot of this nature, but it wasn’t possible.  However, she was happy with it (the important thing) and we got good feedback from Vogue.

Vogue Pantry page Nov15Anyone out there who has products that need photographing, I’d love to do some to add to my portfolio – it would be great to hear from you.

 

“From little acorns great oaks grow” – I hope !

About Stephen G

Commercial lifestyle photography is what we do. My first love is landscape photography, though I would love to be a travel photographer. Personally, I follow the activities of many photographers in all genres. My other loves are ancient Egypt and Theology.
Image | This entry was posted in Commercial, Product and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

